skip navigation
Usawrestling logo stacked


South Dakota USA Pre-Season National Results

South Dakota had a great showing at USA Wrestling's Pre-Season National in Cedar Falls, IA this past weekend. The South Dakota wrestlers who competed brought back plenty of All-American honors and a few national champions. All of the wrestlers who participated represented our great state well and got a little better in the process. Congratulations to all of our All-American's and National Champions!

1st-2nd Grade:

40lb Kale Hofer, Legends of Gold 4th

50lb Brendon Oehme, Legends of Gold 5th

65lb Conner Giedd, Legends of Gold 2nd

50lb Gage Lohr, Watertown 3rd

70lb Brody Nielsen, Madison 4th

3rd-4th Grade:

80lb Elijah Schunke, Legends of Gold 8th

130lb Brennon Bickett, Madison 1st

70lb Nathan Briggs, Watertown 4th

5th-6th Grade:

95lb Jack Kruger, Kimball 6th

75lb Ayson Rice, Legends of Gold 2nd

130lb Tanner Meyers, Legends of Gold 1st

HWT Navarro Schunke, Legends of Gold 1st

Middle School:

136lb Sam Kruger, Kimball 5th

105lb Isaac Klinkhammer, Legends of Gold 8th

175lb Owen Warren, Legends of Gold 5th

136lb Jaden Dominisse, Canton 8th

High School:

182 Devin Stork, Legends of Gold 3rd

182 Nick Casperson, Legends of Gold 1st

HWT Payton Smith, Canton 8th

2015-16 Wrestler of the Year Awards

Nominations are being taken for the 2015-16 SDUSAW Wrestler of the Year Awards. Each year SDUSAW recognizes the top wrestler from South Dakota in each of three divisions: Women's, Youth (Bantam-Schoolboy), and High School (Cadet and Junior). If you have a wrestler that you would like to nominate for one of the three divisions, please email Chism Fink at Include wrestler's name, town, club, and accomplishments at USAW or UWW Events during the 2015-2016 Season (Sept 1, 2015-Aug 31, 2016). 


State & National Wrestling News

SD USAW Annual Meeting

09/13/2016, 9:15am CDT
By Darren Galt

On Sept. 11th SDUSAW held their annual meeting in Pierre.  A new set of by-laws were adopted along with the election of officials.  A quick note from the new SDUSAW Chairman Chism Fink:  "We had our biggest turnout ever. I think we had twenty people present and four that phoned in for the meeting. I thank everyone who made the long or short trip to Pierre for the meeting, I think we got a lot of good input from a variety of people.  SDUSAW will be going through some restructuring that I think will help the organization grow and improve very quickly. There will be a lot coming out in the next weeks, so stay tuned. By the end of this week we will have the minutes from the meeting posted along with the financial report for the year. We will also have a date and location for the state folkstyle tournament set and posted within the next two weeks, along with the qualification process for the Heartland Duals."

Ronna Heaton

Contact SD USA Wrestling